The Zurich University of Applied Sciences Council is composed of the member of the cantonal government responsible for education and six to eight personalities from the fields of science, culture, business, social affairs and politics elected by the cantonal government with the approval of the cantonal parliament. The term of office of the elected members is four years. Re-election is possible twice.

The UAS Council is chaired by the Head of the Department of Education. In addition to the elected members, the Rector of the ZHdK, the Rectors of the PHZH and ZHAW, one representative each of the students, lecturers and other university staff, as well as the head of the Higher Education Office attend the meetings in an advisory capacity.